Minnesota’s Credit Unions elect board; honor colleagues at annual conference

ST. PAUL, MN (May 3, 2019) — Last week, over 500 credit union professionals,volunteers, and exhibitors from across Minnesota convened for the 2019 MnCUN Annual Conference. Held at the Radisson Blu Mall of America in Bloomington, the conference featured guest speakers, educational sessions, networking opportunities, the MnCUN Business Meeting, the state’s largest credit union vendor exhibit hall, and a CU4Kids Karaoke for Kids event.

United States Senator Tina Smith opened the annual event and expressed support for the credit unions. Attendees also received public policy updates and more information about the first-in-the-nation “Open Your Eyes to a Credit Union” awareness campaign. Additional guests include Minnesota Department of Commerce Commissioner Steve Kelley; and Lisa Servon, author of “The Unbanking of America.”

The annual business meeting featured an overview of credit union accomplishments from the past year, committee reports and the Board election.

This year, two incumbents were re-elected, and one new member was elected to three-year terms on the MnCUN Board of Directors:
• Terri Maloney, Catholic United Financial Credit Union – Fewer than 10,000 members*
• Karen Fleming, HBI Employees Credit Union – Fewer than 10,000 members*
• Dave Boden, Hiway Federal Credit Union – At Large Category

Following the Business Meeting, Board table officers were elected.Karen Fleming of HBI Employees will serve as Chair, Mary Hansen of Mayo Employees will serve as Vice Chair, and Terri Maloney of Catholic United will serve as Secretary/Treasurer.

Minn. Credit Unions Honor Colleagues during Awards Breakfast Dan Stolz of SPIRE concluded his time as Chair of Board of the Directors and was presented with a gavel in honor of his contributions. Dan has served on the board since 2011, and as chair since 2016.

The Outstanding Credit Union Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to Jerry Schleicher, Board Chair of Minnco Credit Union. This award is to a credit union volunteer who best represents the credit union spirit through dedication to, and belief in, the credit union movement.

The Professional of the Year Award is given to a remarkable person who truly stands behind the “people helping people” credit union philosophy. This year, the Minnesota Credit Union Network’s honoree for Outstanding Credit Union Professional of the Year Award was Dave Larson, President/CEO of Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union.

About Minnesota Credit Union Network

The Minnesota Credit Union Network is the statewide trade association that works to ensure the success, growth, and vitality of Minnesota credit unions. With nearly $27 billion in assets, Minnesota credit unions are local, trusted financial cooperatives that serve almost 1.9 million members at around 400 branch locations around the state. As not-for-profit institutions, credit unions give back to the communities they serve. For more information, visit


Andrea Molnau

More News