MSGCU awards more than $45,000 to local educators

CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI (November 2, 2020) — Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union (MSGCU) is excited to announce its Classroom Cash Grants program recipients for 2020. This year, MSGCU is awarding more than $45,000 to 64 educators spanning 51 schools across the Metro Detroit area.

The grants, worth up to $750 each, help with the implementation of innovative learning experiences that foster students’ exploration, independent thinking, and problem solving. This year, grants also aid in virtual learning and help to keep educators and students safe from COVID-19 including personal protective equipment.

 With a heritage rooted in education, MSGCU is committed to supporting the entrepreneurial spirit and dedication of the teaching community. Since its inception, the Classroom Cash Grants program has awarded more than $530,000 to local educators. The program has funded 1,000 unique projects that enhance the academic environment and would otherwise go unfunded.

“We strongly believe in the power of education and the important role educators play in the development of our youth,” said Pete Gates, MSGCU President/CEO. “We are humbled to provide this resource to educators as they plan creative and impactful learning experiences in their classrooms and virtually this school year.”

Classroom Cash Grants program winners are determined based on total votes cast by students, parents, colleagues, family members and friends. More than 72,000 votes were cast during an eleven-day online voting period.

The Classroom Cash Grants program is open annually to all teachers in the communities MSGCU serves. The program is just one way MSGCU shows its support for local educators. The credit union also offers financial education webinars, low-rate classroom loans, and the Milo Perreault Educator Advantage Scholarship for continuing education credit. Visit, call 866.674.2848 or stop by a branch to learn more.

For more information about the Classroom Cash Grants program and to view the grant recipients’ projects, visit

 2020 MSGCU Classroom Cash Grants Program Recipients

  • Delores Alexander, A.L. Holmes Academy of Blended Learning (Wayne County)
  • Lindsey Belzyt, Reuther Middle School (Oakland County)
  • Janet Brady, Wheat Early Childhood Center (Macomb County)
  • Adam Burns, Troy Athens High School (Oakland County)
  • Sarah Cartwright, Norup International School (Oakland County)
  • Ryan Charles, Morrish Elementary School (Genesee County)
  • Mike Conrad, Royal Oak High School (Oakland County)
  • Patricia Cusumano, Beacon Tree Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Kaitlyn Divozzo, Wheat Early Childhood Center (Macomb County)
  • Jill Erfourth, Duncan Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Gina Evans, Beacon Tree Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Cheryl Gaedcke, Lottie M. Schmidt Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Jennifer Green, Shrine Catholic Grade School (Oakland County)
  • Lisa Hermann, Southfield High School for the Arts and Technology (Oakland County)
  • Kelli Herr, Rodgers Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Candace Ivy, Plumbrook Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Marcia Jahn, Browning Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Angela Jolley, Beacon Tree Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Tracy Kohl, Switzer Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Tamiko Kuykendall, Wheat Early Childhood Center (Macomb County)
  • Laura Laban, Ebeling Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Michele Laramie, Power Middle School (Oakland County)
  • Jaime Leslie, Huron Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Philip Lewan, Boulan Park Middle School (Oakland County)
  • David Licari, Algonquin Elementary School (St. Clair County)
  • Kristen Little, Avondale Middle School (Oakland County)
  • Jennifer Lusk, Little Turtle Early Childhood Center (Macomb County)
  • Jill Majewski, New Haven Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Aaron Maliepaard, Martell Elementary School (Oakland County)
  • Tammy Marr, Immaculate Conception Catholic School (St. Clair County)
  • Angela Meyers, Marie C. Graham Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Chalcee Norwood, Cornerstone Jefferson Douglass Academy (Wayne County)
  • Sarah Oikarinen, Orion Oaks Elementary School (Oakland County)
  • Amy Orlando, Beacon Tree Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Jennifer Parker, Dort Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Rose Paterson, Turning Point Academy (Wayne County)
  • Amber Pietraszewski, Bozymowski School (Macomb County)
  • Cheryl Pietraszewski, Adlai Stevenson High School (Macomb County)
  • Tamara Powell, Monfort Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Cindy Praet, Cardinal Mooney High School (St. Clair County)
  • Virginia Riolo, Troy High School (Oakland County)
  • LevQual Robinson, Kennedy Learning Center (Oakland County)
  • Courtney Rose, Power Middle School (Oakland County)
  • Mary Ruhlman, Algonac Junior/Senior High School (St. Clair County)
  • Carol Schrage, Huron Academy Utica Campus (Macomb County)
  • Keith Silage, Mount Clemens High School (Macomb County)
  • Lisa Simmons, Auxiliary and Preschool Service Center (Macomb County)
  • Nick Skalsky, Henry Ford II High School (Macomb County)
  • Joy Smick, The Giving Tree Preschool (Macomb County)
  • Hilary Speshock, Beacon Tree Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Amber Stallworth, Rodgers Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Jennifer Sutter, Havel Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Dayna Thompson, Browning Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Tom Torrento, Grosse Pointe North High School (Wayne County)
  • Jaime Trombley, Greenwood Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Nancy Troyanovich, Duncan Elementary School (Macomb County)
  • Danielle Truesdell, Addams Early Childhood Center (Oakland County)
  • Marc Vickers, Troy High School (Oakland County)
  • Nate Wagner, Academy of the Sacred Heart (Oakland County)
  • Kristina Walla, Richmond Middle School (Macomb County)
  • Heather Weaver, Wheat Early Childhood Center (Macomb County)
  • Gregory Wolff, Pierce Middle School (Wayne County)
  • Richard Zager, Southfield High School for the Arts and Technology (Oakland County)
  • Cheri Zweng, Masonic Heights Elementary School (Macomb County)

About Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union

Founded by a small group of educators, MSGCU has been providing quality financial services to the communities they serve for 70 years and welcomes everyone in Michigan to bank with them. MSGCU offers a full range of loan, deposit, checking, credit card, mortgage, and insurance products for those that live in Michigan. With 22 branch offices in Macomb, Oakland, Washtenaw, and Wayne Counties, MSGCU has more than 145,000 members, $3.6 billion in assets, and has earned a 97% member satisfaction rating for more than 20 years. MSGCU has also earned five stars (the highest rating) from Bauer Financial for more than 30 years, and has been honored as a Top Workplace by the Detroit Free Press for the past 11 consecutive years. MSGCU is insured by NCUA and an equal housing lender. Visit for more information.


Tricia Marion
Marketing Communications Specialist II
Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union
4555 Investment Drive
Troy, MI 48098
P: (586) 263-8800, ext. 519

More News