NASCUS announces signing of 2015 Cooperative Interstate Agreement for the Supervision of State-Chartered Credit Unions

(May 18, 2015) — Nine states have signed an agreement to facilitate the ability of their state-chartered credit unions to operate across state lines. The agreement, the 2015 Cooperative Interstate Agreement for the Supervision of State-Chartered Credit Unions, was developed by the nine states in conjunction with the National Association of State Credit Union Supervisors (NASCUS).

The agreement promotes interstate commerce and cooperation on a reciprocal basis among the participating states: Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, Oregon, Washington, West Virginia and Wisconsin. Several additional states are also considering joining the agreement.

The goals of the agreement are to: “promote fair and equitable commerce among state-chartered credit unions based upon reciprocity, subject to appropriate safety and soundness provisions, in order to best serve the citizens of the respective states; and to ensure that continued discussions occur with the associated regulatory agencies, the credit union industry, and other interested parties to promote consistent and equitable treatment for state-chartered credit unions, so they may effectively compete.”

John Kolhoff, director of the Michigan Office of Credit Unions, noted that “the agreement has not really fundamentally changed the powers and authorities of a Michigan state charter. Michigan credit unions always had the ability to seek branches in other states, subject to host state approval. However, with this agreement, we are easing the procedural impediments for our credit unions and demonstrating that this is a viable choice for them if consistent with their strategic plans.”

The agreement follows a similar agreement signed by seven southeastern states in 2009 to facilitate the interstate operations of their state-chartered credit unions. Both this 2015 agreement and the southeastern agreement are available on the NASCUS website.


The National Association of State Credit Union Supervisors (NASCUS) is the primary resource and voice of the state governmental agencies that charter, regulate and examine the nation’s state-chartered credit unions. NASCUS membership is made up of state-chartered credit unions, state regulators and other supporters of the state credit union system. NASCUS is the only organization dedicated to the defense and promotion of the state credit union charter and the autonomy of state credit union regulatory agencies. To learn more about NASCUS, visit

More News