NCUA Plans Regional Realignment in 2014

Shifting of Nine States Balances Workload, Improves Efficiency, Reduces Costs

ALEXANDRIA, VA (July 18, 2013) — The National Credit Union Administration today announced a realignment of the agency’s regional supervision of federally insured credit unions in nine states, effective Jan. 1, 2014. The adjustment results from NCUA’s ongoing efforts to operate as efficiently as possible.

“We continually monitor our regional workload and, when necessary, make adjustments to distribute exam hours proportionally,” NCUA Board Chairman Debbie Matz said. “Several years ago, NCUA moved California, Nevada and several individual credit unions, for supervision purposes, to different regions. Now that the economic downturn has ended, with the economy gaining strength and with the credit union industry generally performing well, we are reconfiguring our regions to create geographically compact districts that better balance workload, improve efficiency and reduce travel costs by more than $900,000 per year.”

Effective January 1, 2014, the following nine states will shift regions as follows:

​From ​To ​States
​Region V ​​Region IV Colorado, Montana, New Mexico, Wyoming
​Region IV ​Region III ​Louisiana, Arkansas
​Region IV ​Region I ​Wisconsin
​Region III ​Region II ​Ohio
​Region II ​Region V ​California

A map of the NCUA’s new regional structure is available here.

The return of California to NCUA’s Region V is a “return to normal” Matz added. NCUA transferred oversight of California’s federally insured credit unions from Region V to Region II in 2010. Previously, NCUA reassigned oversight of Nevada’s federally insured credit unions between 2009 and 2012. Region V resumed supervision in Nevada at the start of 2013.

The implementation of the new regional structure coincides with other changes to strengthen supervision. At the start of 2013, NCUA reorganized existing resources to create an Office of National Examinations and Supervision. The office will begin supervising the nation’s largest consumer credit unions, those with more than $10 billion in assets, at the start of 2014.

The realignment is the product of several months’ work to balance the workload and staffing, and respond to changes in the industry resulting from industry mergers.

Each NCUA region will now have between 114 and 128 examiners, in addition to supervision, special actions and support personnel. NCUA expects the shift to be completed with a minimal disruption to staff and to credit unions, and no staff relocations will be necessary.

NCUA is the independent federal agency created by the U.S. Congress to regulate, charter and supervise federal credit unions. With the backing of the full faith and credit of the U.S. Government, NCUA operates and manages the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund, insuring the deposits of more than 94 million account holders in all federal credit unions and the overwhelming majority of state-chartered credit unions.


More News