UVA Community Credit Union President & CEO Alison DeTuncq to retire

VIRGINIA, . (September 17, 2021) — After a 32 year tenure with UVA Community Credit Union, including the last 22 as President/CEO, Alison DeTuncq has announced her plans to retire in May 2022.

“Alison is the epitome of dedication, hard work, and passion for our Credit Union movement. She has cultivated and modeled a culture driven by our Core Values of member service, integrity, collaborative teamwork, and the belief in building strong community partnerships and improving the financial well-being of our members” said UVA Community Credit Union Board Chairman Jeffrey C. Moscicki.

DeTuncq has played a critical role in the transformation and success of the University of Virginia Community Credit Union. Under her leadership, Credit Union assets grew from $130 million to over $1.3 billion. She directed three successful charter expansions increasing of the field of membership to 20 counties and five cities, expanded the branch network to eighteen; three of which are student-run in local High Schools and one in Piedmont Virginia Community College (PVCC). She initiated the Credit Union’s award-winning, comprehensive financial literacy program among Virginia state-wide credit unions, including participation in the Internal Revenue Service’s Volunteer Income Tax Assistance Program (VITA). The VITA program provides free tax preparation to qualified participants and generates an annual economic impact of over a million dollars for the Greater Charlottesville community. The Credit Union was one of eighteen lenders chosen by the Department of Urban and Housing Development to test pilot its energy efficient loan program, and one of the first to develop and provide FHA PowerSaver Loans. The Credit Union currently employs over 250 team members, and serves a membership of over 70,000 individuals and businesses.

“It has been the greatest honor of my life to serve as the Credit Union’s chief executive officer and to be a part of the Credit Union movement. I am most thankful to the great team I had the privilege to work with for so many years, from the dedicated volunteer board of directors and committee members, to the incredible staff who have been so committed to the success of our Credit Union. And, I am humbled to serve our members for the past three decades. Their support of the Credit Union is the reason we have been so successful. The Credit Union is in a great place, and I am very excited for its future,” said DeTuncq.

DeTuncq has been very active in the Credit Union movement. She served on the Virginia Credit Union League’s Budget and Dues Committee and was previously the president of the Central Virginia Chapter. She is an active member of the Virginia Credit Union League’s Estonia Partnership Committee, which works jointly with the World Council of Credit Unions to aid the growing credit union system in the Baltic nation of Estonia. DeTuncq received the Eugene H. Farley Jr. Award of Excellence, one of the Virginia Credit Union League’s highest honors, for her many contributions to the Credit Union industry. DeTuncq served on the board of directors for VACORP Credit Union from April 2002 until its merger with Mid-Atlantic Corporate Federal Credit Union when she was elected to their board of directors. She was the first chairman of the board of VIZO Financial Corporate Credit Union, following the merger of Mid-Atlantic and First Carolina corporate credit unions. DeTuncq is also the President/CEO of Member Options, LLC, a wholly owned mortgage company of UVA Community Credit Union, where she also serves on the Board of Managers.

As a civic leader in her local community, DeTuncq serves on the board of directors for the Piedmont Virginia Community College Foundation and the Shenandoah National Park Trust. DeTuncq also served on the board of directors for the

Charlottesville Regional Chamber of Commerce, the Albemarle Housing Improvement Program, and the United Way – Thomas Jefferson Area.

DeTuncq was appointed in August of 2013 by Governor McDonnell to serve as the Culpeper District representative of the Commonwealth Transportation Board (CTB). The seventeen-member CTB establishes the policies for Virginia’s transportation system, allocates highway funding to specific projects, locates routes, and provides funding for public transportation. She was reappointed for two additional terms by Governor McAuliffe and Governor Northam.

A CEO Search Committee, appointed by the Credit Union board of directors, has partnered with Shanley Search Partners ( in the search for the Credit Union’s next leader.

Alison DeTuncq


Janine Williams

Senior Vice President Of Marketing

UVA Community Credit Union


More News