WI Governor visits student-run credit union

EAU CLAIRE, WI (January 6, 2018) — Wisconsin Governor Scott Walker visited Royal Credit Union’s North High School student-run office in Eau Claire on Friday, January 5, 2018. Governor Walker was in Eau Claire to learn more about the Eau Claire Area School District’s apprenticeship program. During his visit to the Royal office, students talked to him about the program, how it’s helping prepare them for success and the importance of financial education for students. They also thanked the Governor for recently signing into law the financial literacy requirement for K-12 students in Wisconsin.

Governor Walker observed the student-tellers as they processed transactions and spoke with student Members.  The Governor even won a pair of Royal CU sunglasses after spinning the wheel and correctly answering a financial literacy question. He took a selfie with Royal’s student interns wearing the glasses and mentioned the glasses in his address to all ECASD students in the apprenticeship program later in the media center. Royal is proud to partner with the Eau Claire Area School District, and many other districts, to promote financial literacy and provide opportunities for students. Royal opened its first school-based credit union in 1993 and currently operates 28 student-run credit union offices in Wisconsin and Minnesota.

Official Group Medium Res

Walker Spin Wheel

Walker talking to Jayden and Katie

Walker selfie w students best

About Royal Credit Union

Royal Credit Union is a federally insured credit union proudly serving over 300,000 Members in Minnesota and Wisconsin. Royal is driven by a core ideology built on a strong purpose and values. You can open an account or apply for a low-rate loan at Royal Credit Union if you live or work in 26 counties in western Wisconsin or 16 counties in Minnesota. Counties served in Wisconsin include Adams, Ashland, Bayfield, Barron, Buffalo, Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Jackson, Lincoln, Marathon, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Portage, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, St. Croix, Taylor, Trempealeau, Washburn, and Wood. Counties served in Minnesota include Anoka, Carver, Chisago, Dakota, Goodhue, Hennepin, Isanti, Olmsted, Pine, Ramsey, Scott, Sherburne, Wabasha, Washington, Winona and Wright. A complete list of Member eligibility requirements is available on the Royal Credit Union website. To learn more about Royal, visit or call 800-341-9911.


Melissa Janssen, CCUFC
Program Director of Community Relations
Royal Credit Union
715-450-0782 (mobile)
715-855-5428 (office)

More News